Krehn Solutions

Creating SSL Certification

Category: News
Published on Monday, 15 August 2016
Written by Raymond Krehn

This guide will walk through setting up an SSL certification and installing it on your server. I used these steps in the past for Jira and Confluence, but there are many uses for this. SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) is the standard security technology for establishing an encrypted link between a web server and a browser. According to Digicert, "SSL allows sensitive information such as credit card numbers, social security numbers, and login credentials to be transmitted securely. Normally, data sent between browsers and web servers is sent in plain text—leaving you vulnerable to eavesdropping. If an attacker is able to intercept all data being sent between a browser and a web server they can see and use that information."

A certificate signing request (CSR) can be taken to any third-party Certificate Authority (such as Digicert or VeriSign) to get a signed certificate that will be trusted by default in most browsers. These steps are a prerequisite in this guide for all methods of creating a new certificate.

Read more: Creating SSL Certification

How to: Land a Job

Category: News
Published on Monday, 25 July 2016
Written by Raymond Krehn

I've been interviewing for a position at my company for a few weeks now and I can't help but notice how frequently some (what I would assume) basic concepts of getting a job are completely ignored. I was recently browsing social media when I came across someone complaining about the difficulty of finding a job. Their gripe with the process was someone telling them to try harder. The person argued, "How do I try harder? Do I type my resume harder? Do I hit submit harder? etc." It made me chuckle. This sparked a response where I decided to write a quick guide on landing a job. Let's start with the resume:

  • Use proper grammar. This should be obvious, but apparently it isn't.
  • When writing your job experience, talk about your accomplishments using keywords: "Created.." or "Designed..." or "Implemented..."
  • Keep your accomplishments short. I don't have the time to read paragraphs.
  • Be specific if you can. Writing"Created a distribution report for management" isn't interesting. What is interesting, though, is if you write something like "Created a distribution report that reduced costs by $30,000 per month by exposing overpriced product purchases."
  • Keep it at two pages MAX. Even if you have 30 years of experience, you don't have to talk about every job. I want to know about your most recent experience. Your older jobs will be brought up in the interview should you get one.
  • Write a cover letter that is tailored for the position. I've seen everything from a full page to a few sentences. Regardless, it shows me you're more interested than the majority of candidates who don't write one at all.

Now we need to determine where you are on your career. Skip to the section most relevant to you.

Read more: How to: Land a Job

Peer-to-peer Lending Evolved

Category: News
Published on Thursday, 28 April 2016
Written by Raymond Krehn

My article relating to Peer-to-Peer Lending is one of my most popular articles with over 6,000 visits. I think that's a rather huge accomplishment for a personal website with no desire to publically broadcast. One of the items I talk about later in the article is how to reduce risk while increasing rewards. Using backtracked data that spans billions of dollars, I decided to test out a few algorithms that could potentially maximize my return interest. 

After testing these algorithms for over a year, I was astonished at the results. I'll share these in a moment. I thought to myself, "what if I can share this with the world?" It was a unique challenge for me. I knew that Lending Club offered API, as I discussed in the aforementioned article. What I wanted to know was whether or not it was possible to interact with other people's accounts and share the same algorithm using that same API. It was. While challenging at times, I believe my efforts were worth it. 

Today, I introduce to you Flux Robot - You can see the results at the bottom of the page or in the performance section.